Event Details

Starts on:09/04/2016 04:00


A recital for cello and piano will take place at Technopolis 20, on Friday, April 8, at 8pm with Brice Catherin (cello) and Annini Tsiouti (piano).

The programme will include works by Dmitri Shostakovich, Nikos Skalkottas and Bohuslav Martinu.

Entrance: 10 euro
Reservations necessary at 70002420.

While most composers were abandoning tonality and rejecting tradition during the first half of the 20th Century, Martinu and Shostakovich could both be labeled as post-romantic composers. Far from being nostalgic, conservative nor "anti-modern", both were simply having other concerns. Martinu believed strongly in an extended tonality and reached an admirable balance between late romanticism, bohemian lyricism and popular influences. Shostakovich, who proved to be a very experimental composer in his early works, was later urged to stick to a more communist-friendly aesthetic, whatever this meant to the music politburo in Russia in these years. Yet, this delicate attempt to please both the party and his talent to break all boundaries are eventually the forces that made his music so unique.

The two sonatas we are playing tonight are perfectly representative works of these composers, as is Skalkottas' Tender Melody. Skakottas, on very contrary, was interested mainly in avant-garde ideas and soon joined the second Viennese school, becoming an advocate of twelve-tone-technique, though he used it with a great sense of sensuality, composing very expressive music often closer to Weil than Webern.

Brice Catherin
After his diploma of composition with Michael Jarrell in 2006, Brice Catherin willingly stepped away from the contemporary music institutions in order to develop very freely a few activities: multi-instrumental cellist, improviser, composer and art performer. These activities fed into each another, so that beyond his multidisciplinary shows and improvised concerts, Brice Catherin has never stopped composing and premiering written pieces.

Most of his recent projects explore the idea of democracy in art: the artists’ individual responsibilities and their place in the social group as well as those of the members of the audience are challenged and questioned.

Annini Tsiouti
Annini Tsiouti took piano lessons at the Ethnikon Odeion Kyprou with Thetis Dalitou. After receiving her piano Degree she was accepted at the École Normale de Musique de Paris where she studied piano and chamber music.

In 2001 she started taking piano lessons at the Conservatoire Municipal du 17e arrondissement - Claude Debussy, where she was awarded a scholarship by the City of Paris for the academic year 2003-2004.

In September 2000 she started studying Musicology at the Sorbonne University, where she specialised in 20th century music. After presenting a Maîtrise in October 2005, she followed up with a Master 2 in October 2007, both of which were received with Mention Très Bien. Both works of research dealt with the piano music of Greek composer Nikos Skalkottas, the first analysing the Four Suites and the second the 32 Piano Pieces. She is currently preparing a doctorate degree at the same university.

In 2008 Annini moved back to Cyprus where she has been working as piano teacher and accompanist. She continues giving concerts, in Cyprus and abroad, and has appeared in many cities in Europe and the Middle East, where she has also performed in various international festivals. A fervent supporter of contemporary music, she has given first performances of many works by Cypriot and other composers, either for piano solo or in chamber music groups. Since 2011 she is the official Cyprus representative of RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale).


Bigger Smaller